UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

MEDIA ADVISORY: UT Tyler Administration Building Naming Ceremony Nov. 3

November 2, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

The University of Texas at Tyler will hold an unveiling ceremony to name the Administration Building in honor of founding president Dr. James H. Stewart, Jr. at 11 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 3 in the University Center theater, President Rodney H. Mabry announced.

As part of 40th anniversary celebration events, the ceremony will recognize Stewart and his contributions to the institution that is now UT Tyler. Serving 1972 – 1981, Stewart is the only president to have led all three institutions – Tyler State College, Texas Eastern University and The University of Texas at Tyler.

 The program will be as follows:

  • 11 a.m. Welcome – Tiffany Allison, UT Tyler Student Government Association president.
  • 11:05 a.m. President’s Remarks – President Mabry.
  • 11:10 a.m. Charter Faculty Remarks – Dr. Marilyn Young.
  • 11:15 a.m. Charter Staff Remarks – Jim Powell.
  • 11:20 a.m. Introduction of President Emeritus Stewart – President Mabry.
  • 11:25 a.m. Response – Stewart.
  • 11:30 a.m. Unveiling Directions – Jerre Iversen, UT Tyler vice president for university advancement.
  • 11:35 a.m. Unveiling (Outside UC) – President Mabry.

For more information, contact Hannah Buchanan, 903.565.5769/903.539.7196.              

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 11/2/11