UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Awards Professor Emeritus Status for 2011 – 12 Year

September 2, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

Four retired faculty at The University of Texas at Tyler have been named Professor Emeritus, President Rodney H. Mabry announced.

“These faculty members have demonstrated exemplary service to the university and are outstanding representatives of the UT Tyler faculty,” President Mabry said.

Professor Emeriti members for the 2011 – 12 year, with field of study, are: Dr. Stephen Daniels, history; Dr. W. Allen Martin, sociology; Dr. Donald McClaugherty, chemistry; and Dr. Keith McCoy, health and kinesiology.

The UT Tyler Emeritus Committee recommends candidates for the lifetime appointments, which are then approved by the President and UT System Board of Regents.

Criteria includes faculty service to UT Tyler for a minimum of 10 years, having been retired or will retire by the beginning of the next academic year when the status is to be conferred and demonstration of good character and sustained quality in academic accomplishments and university service.

Emeritus members hold the same graduate faculty membership as they did immediately upon retirement. They have all privileges of their former status, except that they may not chair master’s or doctoral committees.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 6,500 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 9/9/11