UT Tyler Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Faculty Awards Presented at 2011-12 Convocation

August 19, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler

The University of Texas at Tyler officials presented faculty awards during the 2011-12 Opening Convocation Aug. 19, President Rodney Mabry announced.

“Our faculty are the among the best in their fields, and we are proud to recognize their great work. Students enroll at UT Tyler not only for the academic programs but also for the outstanding faculty who guide and nurture them throughout their UT Tyler education,” President Mabry said.

Recipients and their awards are:

  • 2011 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award – Dr. Barbara Hart, associate professor of criminal justice; and Dr. Catherine Ross, associate professor of English.

This honor recognizes the nominees’ overall commitment and excellence in undergraduate teaching among UT System faculty members. Nominees are recommended by the President of each UT System and are reviewed by an external committee comprised of academic administrators, faculty, students and the UT System Board of Regents. 

“It is our System’s responsibility to provide an exceptional education to our students, and we believe this award program not only furthers that goal, but helps promote a culture of excellence that produces better teaching, better learning and ultimately, better prepared graduates to enter our work force,” said UT System Chancellor Francisco G. Cigarroa.

Hart and Ross will each receive a $30,000 award in recognition of their extraordinary classroom performance and innovation at the undergraduate level.

  • President’s Scholarly Achievement Award – Dr. Blake Bextine, associate professor of biology.

This award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements by a faculty member. Selections are made by a university committee.

  • Jack and Dorothy Faye White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence – Dr. Lance Williams, associate professor of biology.

This honor recognizes excellence in teaching. Nominations are made by both university faculty and students.

  • 2011–12 Piper Professor nominee and White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence – Ross.

This honor focuses on the nominee’s overall excellence in both teaching and scholarly achievement at UT Tyler. Nominees are made by UT Tyler faculty and become the university’s candidate for the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation Excellence in Teaching award, which annually recognizes 15 professors for superior teaching at the college level in Texas. This nominee also automatically receives UT Tyler’s White Fellowship.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 6,500 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 8/19/11