UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Professor Receives President’s Volunteer Service Award

July 8, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler

RainwaterDr. Stephen B. Rainwater, chair and Chandler professor of computer science at The University of Texas at Tyler, has been recognized as a recipient of the 2010 – 11 President’s Volunteer Service Award, Dr. James Nelson, College of Engineering and Computer Science dean, announced.

He was granted the silver medal for his work of more than 250 voluntary services hours on behalf of educational technology.

During the George W. Bush presidency, the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation was established in 2003 to recognize contributions volunteers make to communities and encourage more people to serve. The Council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

A UT Tyler faculty member since 1982, Rainwater currently serves on the International Society for Technology in Education Board of Directors as the computer science representative. In this role, he contributes towards the society’s focus on providing leadership and service to improve teaching, learning and school leadership by advancing the effective use of technology in the K-16 environment.

As a subcommittee co-chair, he provided leadership in the revision of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education standards for secondary computer science teaching certification.

After completion of this task, ISTE leadership adopted these standards into the organization’s suite of National Educational Technology Standards.

He also serves as president of ISTE’s Special Interest Group for Computing Teachers and as local campus director of the UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Summer Research Academy.

The UT-LSAMP program is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to increase the number of underrepresented students pursuing graduate-level studies in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

Rainwater holds an Ed.D. in supervision, curriculum and instruction and secondary and higher education, as well as a master of science in computer science, both from Texas A&M University-Commerce. He received the 2005 – 06 UT System Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award and previously served as UT System Faculty Advisory Council member, UT Tyler Faculty Senate president and Texas Computer Education Association president.

Professional memberships include American Society for Engineering Education, Association for Computing Machinery and Computer Science Teachers Association.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 6,500 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 7/7/11