UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Recognizes Longview Campus Scholarship Recipients

February 22, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler

Forty-one scholarship recipients were recognized and three new endowed scholarships benefitting Longview-area students were introduced at a dinner hosted by The University of Texas at Tyler Longview University Center and the Longview Development Council, President Rodney H. Mabry announced.

The students are recipients of academic scholarships endowed to benefit students at UT Tyler’s Longview campus.

The new scholarships are: Jere J. Ruff and John Nay Thomas Scholarship, established by the Ruff family led by Eric Ruff, and the Thomas family, led by Barbara Pool; Jack Matthewson Mann Scholarship, established by the Mann family led by Jack Mann, Jr.; and LUC Circle of Friends Scholarship, established by the LUC Circle of Friends, led by UT Tyler’s Longview Development Council.

Other scholarship donors and their scholarships are: Mr. and Mrs. J.N. Garland, Peggy and Neal Garland Scholarship; Mr. and Mrs. John C. Whitaker, Hogan-Whitaker Scholarship; and Ms. Linda Ellard, Laurie Ellard Bates Nursing Scholarship.

Jerre Iversen, UT Tyler vice president for university advancement, gave remarks about the value of the campus to the region. Nearly 1,000 of UT Tyler’s current students are from Gregg, Harrison, Rusk and Upshur counties.

Katherine Keith represented the recipients and thanked the donors for their generosity.

The recipients, listed by hometown, are:

BRYAN – Amanda Graham.

KILGORE – Julie Christina Crum.

LONGVIEW – Anish Alexander, Kaitlin Rose Andrews, Whitney Nicole Andrews, Kayci Brooke Arthur, Amanda Barton, Mary Katherine Bishop, Tiffani Cobb, Stacy Elizabeth Conner, Meagan L. Cooper, Sabrina Lynn Cubine, Debra Dunham, Jennifer Reagan Fleet, Nicholas Ryan Glaze, Nyyah Larue Glisson, Ilda Gonsales, Brian Guillory, Macy Hamilton, Tracy Lanell Hicks, Stephanie Lynne Hunt, Trevin Wesley Hurt, Amanda Jenkins, Katherine Keith, Natasha L. Kincaide, Rudolph Edward Maldonado II, Adam George Maldonado, Heather Elaine McGuire, Melissa Ann McGuire, David Miller, Lindsey Michelle Nance, Wendy Neimeyer, Sarah Emily Reeves, Cassandra L. Stapleton, Samuel Thadathil, Lauren Ashley Waggoner, Deborah Sue Williams and Rachael Beth Rowland.

PEARLAND – Rachael Beth Rowland.

TYLER – Candice Green and Brittney Nelson.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,400 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 2/22/11