UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

Debate Team at UT Tyler Breaks National Record

February 16, 2011

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler

The University of Texas at Tyler debate team has achieved a new national record for most wins in a season, Dr. Dennis Cali, Department of Communication chair, announced.

The UT Tyler team of Alex Warren of Tyler, a junior economics major, and Travis Smith of Palestine, a junior political science and communication major, achieved the record while placing in the top three teams at the Point Loma Nazarene University debate tournament in San Diego, Calif.

Warren and Smith accumulated 71 wins in preliminary debates, which is the most by any team in the history of parliamentary debate.

The previous record, set in 2008 by Washburn University, was 67.

“What makes this record special is that Alex and Travis did this while maintaining one of the best win-loss percentages in the country,” said Dr. Charles Walts, director of forensics and assistant professor of communication.

Warren and Smith finished the regular season with an 80 percent win-loss percentage.

The team will travel to Colorado next month to compete for the national championship. Other current members are Addison Gribbin of Ennis and Michael Jones of Paris.

For more information or interviews, call Hannah Buchanan, 903.565.5769.

Contact UT Tyler | Accessibility | Privacy
Maintained by: Office of Marketing and Communications

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT TYLER 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Tx. 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 - Ph: 800-UTTYLER

© UT Tyler, 2001 - present

 Last Published 2/16/11