flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:






June 4, 2010

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
News and Information
The University of Texas at Tyler

UT Tyler Students Participate in Summer Research Academy

Front row (from left): Leona Caldemeyer, Samantha Steinley, Janet Arras, Michele Folmar.

Front row (from left): Leona Caldemeyer, Samantha Steinley, Janet Arras, Michele Folmar.

Back row (from left): Juan Galvan, Chris Martinez, Gerardo Mederos, Anastasia DeRoussel, Cassie Skipper, Lauren Thomas, Kristen Chockley, Michael Comer.

Twelve undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Tyler are participants in the UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation 2010 Summer Research Academy under the mentorship of UT Tyler Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics faculty, Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, UT Tyler LSAMP program campus director, announced.  

This year’s cohort is comprised of the largest number of UT Tyler students ever to participate in the 19 years of the program.

The participating research fellows, listed by hometown with their research field and faculty mentor are:

GILMER – Leona Caldemeyer, biology, Dr. Troy Anderson.

HOUSTON – Samantha Steinley, biology, Dr. Ali Azghani.

LINDALE – Michael Comer, chemistry, Dr. Jennifer Pearce; and Cassie Skipper, biology, Dr. Blake Bextine.

LONGVIEW – Janet Arras, biology, Bextine.

PLANO – Kristen Chockley, mathematics, Dr. Jennifer McLoud-Mann.

TROUP – Chris Martinez, electrical engineering, Dr. David Hoe.

TYLER – Anastasia DeRoussel, biology, Anderson; Juan Galvan, biology, Dr. John Placyk; Gerardo Mederos, biology, Azghani; and Lauren Thomas, biology, Azghani.

WINNSBORO – Michele Folmar, chemistry, Dr. Tanya Shtoyko.

Each student will receive a fellowship stipend for their participation, and faculty mentors receive funding for supplies and materials to support their student’s research activities. UT Tyler faculty members Dr. Don McClaugherty, chair and professor of chemistry; Dr. Don Killebrew, chair and professor of biology; and Dr. Jeffrey Mountain, associate professor of mechanical engineering, also contribute in their supporting roles on the program’s advisory committee.

Twice this summer, the SRA students will participate in videoconferences involving all LSAMP fellows and mentors across the UT System. The students also will give poster presentations of their research project results at the academy’s conclusion and the annual UT-LSAMP Student Research Conference to be held Sept. 16 – 18 in El Paso.

The UT-LSAMP program is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to increase the number of underrepresented students pursuing graduate level studies in STEM programs.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 90 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.


The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 367 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7173

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000• Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present