flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:






August 24, 2009

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
News and Information
The University of Texas at Tyler

UT Tyler Faculty Awards Presented at 2009-10 Convocation

The University of Texas at Tyler officials presented faculty awards during the 2009-10 Opening Convocation Aug. 24, UT Tyler President Rodney Mabry announced.

Recipients and their awards are:

  • Dr. Neil Gray, professor of chemistry; and Cynthia Sherman, coordinator of school relations and senior lecturer in education, 2009 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award.

This new honor recognizes the nominees’ overall commitment and excellence in undergraduate teaching among UT System faculty members. Nominees are recommended by the President of each UT System, who are then reviewed by an external committee comprised of academic administrators, faculty, students and the UT System Board of Regents.

  • Dr. Paul Roberts, associate professor of human resource development and technology, Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award.

This award recognizes excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level and focuses on innovative teaching methods. Nominees must be full-time, tenured or tenure-track faculty members. Nominations are made by UT Tyler students and faculty.

  • Dr. Dennis Combs, assistant professor of psychology, President’s Scholarly Achievement Award.

This award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements by a faculty member. Selections are made by a university committee.

  •  Dr. Ann Beebe, associate professor of English; and Tammy Cowart, assistant professor of business, 2009 Provost’s Excellence in Teaching Award.

A new award at UT Tyler, the Provost’s Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty whose excellence in undergraduate teaching resulted in their nomination for the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award.

  • Dr. Ross Sherman, chair and professor of educational leadership and policy studies, White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.

This honor recognizes excellence in teaching. Nominations are made by both university faculty and students.

  • Dr. Blake Bextine, assistant professor of biology, 2009-10 Piper Professor nominee and White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.

This honor focuses on the nominee’s overall excellence in both teaching and scholarly achievement at UT Tyler. Nominees are made by UT Tyler faculty and become the university’s candidate for the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation Excellence in Teaching award, which annually recognizes 15 professors for superior teaching at the college level in Texas. This nominee also automatically receives UT Tyler’s White Fellowship.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 90 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.


The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 367 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7173

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000• Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present