flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:






June 9, 2009

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
News and Information
The University of Texas at Tyler

HOMETOWN RELEASE: Arp Resident Participates in UT-LAMP Summer Research Academy at UT Tyler

Blake Wilson of Arp, a junior at The University of Texas at Tyler, is one of seven students who are participants in the 2009 UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Undergraduate Research Academy.

The UT-LSAMP program is supported by the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to increase the number of underrepresented students pursuing graduate level studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics programs.

His faculty mentor is Dr. Tanya Shtoyko, assistant professor of chemistry.

Each student will receive a fellowship stipend for their participation, and faculty mentors receive funding for supplies and materials to support their student’s research activities. The students will also present the results of their research projects at the annual UT-LSAMP Student Research Conference to be held in September.

Wilson will graduate in May 2011 with a bachelor of science degree in chemistry. He plans to enter graduate school and obtain a doctorate degree in chemistry or a related science and pursue a career in pharmaceutical research.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 90 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.


The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 367 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7173

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000• Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present