flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:






May 15, 2008

Media Contact: Beverley Golden
News and Information
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.566.7303 or 903.330.0495 (cell)

UT Tyler Business Honor Society Inducts Students, Faculty and Community Leaders

The University of Texas at Tyler Beta Gamma Sigma national business honor society inducted 39 students, as well as faculty and community business leaders this spring, President Rodney H. Mabry announced.

“Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest scholastic honor that can be achieved by the College of Business and Technology’s business administration students, faculty and business honorees. The organization invites faculty and business people who adhere to its principles of honor, wisdom and earnestness,” said Dr. Jim Tarter, College of Business and Technology dean.

The honor society also recognized Tammy Cowart, UT Tyler assistant professor of business law, and Dr. Sandra Gates, assistant professor of accounting.

Cad Williams of Palestine and Jack Phillips of Gladewater were the outstanding business leaders recognized this year.

Williams has been in the banking industry for almost 50 years. He currently serves as chairman of the board at East Texas National Bank of Palestine. A native of Palestine, he holds a bachelor of arts degree in economics from UT Austin.

He is a member of the UT Tyler President’s Associates, UT Tyler Palestine Campus Development Council, Independent Bankers Association of Texas, Palestine Chamber of Commerce, Texas Area Fund Foundation and Palestine Industrial Foundation.

Phillips holds a bachelor of science degree in geology from UT Austin and has had a successful career in the oil and gas industry.

A member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists for 54 years, he discovered 13 oil and gas fields in New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi.       

He is a member of the UT Tyler External Advisory Council for the College of Engineering and Computer Science, East Texas Geological Society and Gladewater Lions Club.

Students who were inducted by degree are:

Master of business administration – Fredericka Brown, Samuel Cloud, Scott Gibson, Sarah Graham, Drury Grigsby, Kathryn Hesskew, Stephanie Jacobsen, Ronald Johnson, Yaroslav Kovalenko, Peter Kuczkowski, Matthew Sharrock, Andrew Stone and Andrew Walker.

Bachelor of business administration – Kerrie Ambort, Meredith Bell, Heather Blaylock, Courtney Christenberry, Clint Cooper, Kristi Harrel, Nichole Hopkins, Meredith Houston, Vikki Joyce, Kellie Kelsay, Kristi Kent, Breezy Loftin, Dustin Lowther, Brandon Marlow, Brian Martin, Zoila Mojarro, Teppa Parker, Kimberli Partin, Lilyana Radeva, Valerie Ramsey, Ashlyn Thompson, Melissa Tilton, Sarah Todd, Jonathan Trantham, Hailey Watson and Carolyn Wyatt.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 90 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.


The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 367 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7170
Fx: 903.566.7173

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7170 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present