flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:






November 26, 2007

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
News and Information
The University of Texas at Tyler

UT Tyler Students Inducted into Alpha Chi Honor Society

One hundred and forty-three students at The University of Texas at Tyler were inducted into the Texas Alpha Xi Chapter of the Alpha Chi Honor Society for the 2007-08 academic year.

The induction ceremony for the chapter also included the presentation of outstanding faculty awards to the following:

Dr. Roger Conaway, College of Arts and Sciences (liberal arts); Suzanne Pundt, College of Arts and Sciences (sciences and mathematics); Tammy Cowart, College of Business and Technology; Dr. Eric Stocks, College of Education and Psychology; Dr. Robert Wells, College of Engineering and Computer Science; and Danice Greer, College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational society honoring university students for academic excellence. To qualify, students must be at least a junior with a minimum of 24 semester hours at UT Tyler and minimum grade point average of 3.5. They also must rank in the top 10 percent of their college.

Students listed by hometown are:

AUSTIN – Emma P. Lambert.

BULLARD – Alaina Dawn Cannon and Patrick Wayne Newburn.

CANTON – Charlene Rupe Fowler and Jessica Christine Henry.

CARROLLTON – Karen E. Elmore.

CHANDLER – Meranda K. Lawrence, Michael Pope and Kimberly Sober.                  

CONROE – Ashley Nicole Webb.

ELKHART – Lauren Elisha Trim.

FLINT – Emiliann Bachelor, Phillip Bradley Cantrell and Colin Selden.

FLOWER MOUND – Lindsay Nicole Deal.

GEORGETOWN – Claire Letrice  McLain.

GILMER – Lori McCool Guthrie.

GLADEWATER – Jaclyn Renee Burnam, Danielle C. Sellers and Gregory R. Smith.

GOLDEN – Cynthia Kay Barnes and Robert Charles Haisten.

GRAPELAND – Casey Faigle.

GRAPEVINE – Michael David Laney.

HALLSVILLE – Valerie Megan Cox.

HEMPHILL – Ryan Ince.

HENDERSON – Amelia Holland White.

HICO – Katy Ann Manganella.

HIDEAWAY – Lynette M. Sutter.

JACKSONVILLE – Stacey Lynn Alexander, James Terry Jank, Vikki J. Joyce, Kerry Nixon Scruggs and Melissa N. Tilton.

KATY – Staci Thompson.

KEMP – Bryan D. Hunter.

KILGORE – Angula Humphrey.

LINDALE – Brittany Bauman, Brittany Lauren Bradbury, Brandi Diane Bridges, John Huffines, Kristen Kaye McCown and Linda D. Raymond.

LONGVIEW – Samantha Freeman, Kristin D. Hudgins, Shara K. Kipp,

Whitney Michelle LaFavor, Candice Paige Lovelace, Sarah E. Magee, Amanda Renee Milford, Marie S. Peiter and Gayle Marie Randall.

LOVELADY – Leslee Little.

MABANK – Donald L. Shafer.

MARSHALL – Tavia Bohanon, Melissa Dawn Jackson Byars and Ronald Rease Johnson.

MESQUITE – Melissa Erin Wilson.

MILLSAP – Linsey Rochelle Schofield.

MINEOLA – David Asher Clifton.

MOUNT VERNON – Courtney Christenberry.

NEW SUMMERFIELD – Kyle Thomas Ross.

PALESTINE – Laurie J. Brantley and Chaundra G. Dantin.

PITTSBURG – Kristi Lynn Harrel and Rickie J. Humphrey.

RICHARDSON – Phillip Donald Pass.

RICHMOND – Pamela B. Douglas-Ntagha.

ROBSTOWN – E. Ray Covey.

ROCKWALL – Christy Rose Grant.

ROWLETT – Melissa C. Smith.

RUSK – Brandi Monique Black and Joshua Lewis Rich.

SCHULENBEURG – Beth Elyse Lanius.

SCROGGINS – Melody Gail Wright.

SULPHUR SPRINGS – Christina D. Patchen.

TATUM – Beth Camille Freeman.

TENAHA – Krystal Martin.

TOMBALL – Meredith Elise Houston.

TROUP – Jimmy C. Epperson Jr.

TYLER – Mark Andrew Anderson, Candace M. G. Andrews, Kimberly Ashley, Cherie L. Bachus, Amanda E. Bruner, Jonathan Adam Canion, Carrie Beth Carpenter, Taryn Page Coffey, Beth Ann Condry, Satoko Tanaka Counts, Jeremiah E. Crow, Lauren Kelsey Davis, Aricm Dostal, Eirah Mari Downum, Aisha E. Esbay, Cathy D. Garcia, Wolf Gholson, Drury Grigsby, Maggie E. Haas, Britney R. Hilbun, Steven Hitt, Jonette Sue Huchton, William Patrick Hussey.

Also, Rouslan Iakhiaeva, Kristi Kent, Shawn Michael Kristek, Peter Alois Kuczkowski, AK Andrea' La Cross, Levi Shannon McClendon, Jason Wayne Morris, Alisha Michell Morris, Susan Moser, Teppa Parker, Casey M. Renau, Kennon Lynn Reynolds, Bea Roberson, Priscilla A. Schulz, Patricia Jewell Sexton, Samuel Dean Starnes, Kandace Tamez, Bobby K. Terry, Ashlyn B. Thompson, Kelly Thornton, Heather Tidwell, Jeffrey D. Whitaker, Joshua Duane Williams and Jennifer Wilson.

VIDOR – Lisa Daigle.

WHITEHOUSE – Carole A. Bishop, James Davis, Elle Evelyn Harvell and

Erin Renee Holt.

ALABAMA – Amanda T. Nagle.

ILLINOIS – Courtney E. Kunkel.

NEW JERSEY – Ryan Joseph Gaffney.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.


The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 367 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7061

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present