flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:







UT Tyler Computer Science Professor Named to ISTE Board of Directors

May 4, 2007

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, associate professor of computer science at The University of Texas at Tyler, has been elected to serve on the International Society for Technology in Education’s board of directors, Dr. Sumit Ghosh, UT Tyler computer science department chair, announced.

Rainwater will serve a two-year term as a computer science representative.

As a member of ISTE’s governing board, he also will contribute towards the society’s focus on providing leadership and service to improve teaching, learning and school leadership by advancing the effective use of technology in the K-16 environment and teacher education.
Rainwater holds an Ed.D. from Texas A&M University-Commerce. He currently serves as the 2006-07 Texas Computer Education Association president.

Representing more the 85,000 professionals worldwide, ISTE is the home of the National Educational Technology Standards, the Center for Applied Research in Educational Technology and the National Educational Computing Conference.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of nearly 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Hannah Buchanan
The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 372 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7061

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present