flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:







UT Tyler Students Inducted into Business Honor Society

May 2, 2007

group photo

Thirty undergraduate and eight graduate students were inducted into the Beta Gamma Sigma national business honor society recently, Dr. Jim Tarter, UT Tyler dean of the College of Business and Technology, announced.

The BGS induction and recognition program was held April 29 in the UT Tyler Robert R. Muntz Library, room 401.

Junior inductees listed by hometown were:
BULLARD – Jason W. Morris.
HALLSVILLE – Valerie M. Cox.
HAWKINS – Summer S. Baxter.
HOUSTON – Kristopher S. Rivera.
KEMP – Bryan D. Hunter.
KINGWOOD – Adam P. McAlpine.
LUMBERTON – Brittni K. Stinson.
OVERTON – Sarah M. Maxwell.
PALESTINE – Kathy A. Drinning and Colin S. Selden.
PLANO – Matthew V. Riccardi.
TYLER – Jonathan A. Dickard, Jordan C. Humphrey, John D. Kirkpatrick, Heather D. Mallory and Kimberly J. Seliga.
WHITEHOUSE – Alisha M. Kirksey.
WHITE OAK – Trudi B. Cohn.
AUSTRALIA – Simon M. Beresford.

Seniors inductees listed by hometown were:
FRANKSTON – Michael G. Costlow and Christine M. Morton-Stepp.
KILGORE – Matthew S. Crawford.
KIRBYVILLE – Gage E. Brackin.
LONGVIEW – Aline M. Harris.
TEMPLE – Kathleen Wallace.
TYLER – Megan E. Cowan and Tina T. Smith.
WACO – Gregory J. Johnson.
NEW MEXICO – James C. Yanker.
MOROCCO – Fatiha Zoubi.
Graduate students inducted listed by hometown were:
FRANKSTON – Leslie L. Zinger.
HENDERSON – Steven T. Shepherd.
KATY – Joseph C. Beckendorff.
LONGVIEW – Jeffrey D. Morris.
TYLER – Rubayet Salam.
WHARTON – Jeremiah “Eli” Crow.
WHITEHOUSE – Le’Anne Southerland.
ENGLAND – Shallah L. Hatch.      

UT Tyler faculty members inducted were Dr. Hwan Shin, assistant professor of finance, and Dr. Isaura B. Flores, visiting professor of management.

Jeff Austin Jr., chief executive officer of Austin Bank, and Laura Koeing Young, director of sales and marketing of Brighton Accessories, also were inducted as the 2007 honorary members for their contributions to the business community.

“Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest scholastic honor that can be achieved by the College of Business and Technology’s business administrations students, faculty and business honorees. The organization invites faculty and business people who adhere to the principles for which it stands: honor, wisdom and earnestness,” said Tarter.

 One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of nearly 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Hannah Buchanan
The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 372 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7061

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present