flag UT Tyler News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:







UT Tyler Nursing Students Inducted into Iota Nu Chapter

April 18, 2007

Ninety-eight nursing students at The University of Texas at Tyler will be inducted into the UT Tyler College of Nursing and Health Sciences Iota Nu chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society April 18, Dr. Linda Klotz, UT Tyler dean of College of Nursing and Health Sciences and professor of nursing, announced.

Inductees listed by hometown are:

ATHENS –  Patricia Ellis, Denise Hembree and Patricia Vasquez.
AUSTIN – Miranda Miller.
BIG SANDY – Jennifer Craft.
BROWNSBORO –    Lisa January.
BULLARD – Sommer Hefner.
CARROLLTON – Karen Elmore.
CHANDLER –  James West.
CONROE – Amanda Gutierrez.
COPPELL –  Cindy Linck.
CORSICANA –  Jane Farmer.
DALLAS – Allyson Kettler.
DIBOLL – Ashley London. 
DOUGLAS – Anne Collier.
EMORY –  Tamera Gaddis and Paula Gaston.
EUSTACE – Angie Grant.
FAIRFIELD – Lindsay Hill.
FLINT – Kym Drewrey, Jennifer Lewis, Lanelle Picarella, Maria
Roberts, Pamela Rollins and James Summers.
FRANKSTON – Shelia Fields.
GARLAND – Jessica Groves.
GRAPELAND – Karen Lyons and Sarah Pierson.
HENDERSON – Cathleen Fabbiani and April Meaney.
HUNTINGTON – Shari Howard.
JACKSONVILLE – Mikayle Durant, Julie George, Christopher Glass and James Jank.
JEFFERSON – Traci Steele.
KILGORE – Kathleen Hudson.
LAIRD HILL – Shelley Stroman.
LAKE CITY – Christy Thomas and Jason Williams.
LAKE JACKSON – Pamela Gwin   .
LARUE – Kimberly Botschon.
LINDALE – Chalyse Mizell.
LONGVIEW – Marisa Braun, Daytral Brown, Esther Ferrell, Melinda Reeves and Susan Saikin.
LUFKIN – Carol Athey.
MABANK – Linda Mckee.
MOUNT PLEASANT – Connie Taylor.
NACCOGDOCHES – Jamie Cook, Angela Jones and Lance Porter.
OVERTON – Lana Russell.
PALESTINE – Patricia Beckendorf, Jennifer Eggleston, Robin Kelley, Pamela Michaeux-Muniz, Shawna Rodgers and Vicki White.
PARIS – Donna Callicoat and Gail Gunder.
PLANO –  Kristal Hammond.
POLLOK – Jeanie Mcrae.
QUANTICO – Lois Collins.
QUITMAN – Suzanne Terrell.
RICHMOND – Pamela Douglas-Ntagha.
ROYSE CITY – Donna Richardson.
SAGINAW – Courtnay Linahan.
SULPHUR SPRINGS – Deborah Morris.
TEXARKANA – Laura Henry.
TROUP – Delena Garrison.
TYLER – Erick Cruz, Kimberly Cullen , Kara Ean, Kimberly Gates, Monica Hudspeth, Rebecca Inman, Patricia Jackson, Connie Johnson, Jennifer Leblanc, Sunny Matthys, Nicole Mccoy, Brandy Mcilveene, Vicki Melhart,  Karen Riddle, Cris Shipp, Jessica Terry, Kimberly Verasso, Megan Voight and
Renee Wilson.
WAXAHACHIE – Karen Bledsoe.
WHITE OAK – Kristen Hubbard.
WHITEHOUSE – Karen Cooper.

In March 1988, the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International granted a charter to the Iota Nu Chapter at The University of Texas at Tyler. Starting with 142 charter members, the Iota Nu Chapter membership has grown to more than 770 members. Chapter meetings are held at various locations in East Texas throughout the year and feature respected nurse scholars as speakers. The meetings offer an opportunity to interact with nurses from different work settings and different specialty areas. An annual research conference brings internationally known researchers to the community and research grants help support member’s research.

Community service projects have raised thousands of dollars over the years and have contributed to both local and international causes. An annual awards banquet provides members the opportunity to celebrate nursing and nurses in East Texas. In 2006, the chapter was recognized by Sigma Theta Tau International for its outstanding work with a Regional Chapter Excellence Award.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT Tyler System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of nearly 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Hannah Buchanan
The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 372 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7061

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present