UT Tyler flag News and Information

UT Tyler Information For:







UT Tyler Student and Staff Leadership, Service Recognized at Reception

May 14, 2007

Students and staff at The University of Texas at Tyler were honored with its first student leadership and services awards recognition reception, Dr. Dale Lunsford, UT Tyler vice president of student affairs, announced.

Various campus-wide awards were given during the reception held May 1. The event was sponsored by the UT Tyler Office of Student Development.

“This has been another year of outstanding achievements for UT Tyler,” said Lunsford. “With vision, teambuilding, organizing and good old-fashioned hard work, our student leaders are making a difference. UT Tyler remains a place where an energetic and focused individual can change the campus.”

  • UT Tyler Student Government Association awards:

SGA Perfect Attendance Awards – Robin Baker, Alyssa Dorman, Aaron Hamrick, Russell Hildebrand, Martin McKown and Nancy Palencia
SGA Honorable Mention Award – Russell Hildebrand
SGA Extra Mile Award – Rene Hernandez
SGA Senator of the Year – Kerrie Ambort

  • Outstanding Student Organization Member Award (Warren Brown, Colleges Against Cancer) – This award is designed to recognize a member of a student organization who is not necessarily an officer in an organization but who has helped an organization achieve its mission through participation in most, if not all of the organizations events.
  • The Unsung Hero Award (John Bragg, Campus Activities Board) – Recognizes an individual who does not hold an elected office within the organization but demonstrates loyalty, outstanding service, and unselfish devotion to the organization. This person also made “behind-the-scenes” contributions to help accomplish the organizations mission.
  • Sorority Outstanding New Member of the Year Award  (Brooke Spann, Gamma Phi Beta) – Recognizes a woman who exemplifies her sorority’s founding principles and demonstrates them in her everyday life.  She must have contributed to the advancement of her sorority and demonstrate potential for future contributions toward leadership within her organization.
  • Outstanding New Student Organization Award  (Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity) – Recognizes a student organization that has been in existence for less than one full academic year for enhancing student life on campus through involvement in campus activities and/or campus programming.
  • Emerging Leader Award (Anna Huttenhoff, Gamma Phi Beta) – Recognizes a student who has demonstrated potential to be a continued leader on the UT Tyler campus and who is involved in at least one organization on campus already.
  • Program of the Year Award (Deal or No Deal Watch Party, Campus Activities Board) – Recognizes an organization that has created a program that demonstrated originality and innovation and significantly enhanced student life at UT Tyler.
  • Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award (Carey O’Kelly, Campus Activities Board) – Recognizes an individual who demonstrates enthusiasm and commitment to supporting students through organization advising. The recipient serves as a mentor and encourages both the organizational goals and the individual members within the organization.
  • Outstanding Student Organization President Award (Jana Cruce, The Accounting Society) – Recognizes a student organization president who effectively motivates the members of the organization and demonstrates positive leadership skills.
  • Greek Man of the Year Award (Josh Skalka, Sigma Alpha Epsilon) – recognizes an individual that exemplified his fraternity’s principles and has contributed to the advancement of the fraternal movement at UT Tyler.
  • Greek Woman of the Year Award (Amanda Williams, Delta Gamma) – Recognizes an individual who exemplified her sorority’s principles and has contributed to the advancement of the fraternal movement at UT Tyler.
  • Student Organization of the Year Award (Campus Activities Board) – Recognizes a student  organization that has shown school spirit, contributed significantly and positively through programs, activities, and other organizational efforts; and has achieved its mission as reflected in the purpose statement submitted with the organization’s registration form.

The Legacy Award (Chad Myers and Amy Stotts)  – Recognizes those individuals who are graduating in May or December and have made a significant contribution to UT Tyler during their time as a student here. Upon receiving this award, a student’s name will be included on a plaque in the Office of Student Development.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 70 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of nearly 6,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.



The University of Texas at Tyler
Office of News and Information
Admin 372 3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, Tx 75799

Ph: 903.566.7000
Fx: 903.566.7173

E-mail News and Information

The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7000 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present